Ooo…Shiny Book….

I should just not be given books.  That’s really all there is too it.  The minute I pick up a book, I’m gone.  I get nothing done, don’t notice the time pass – nothing.  Generally speaking, I’m completely absorbed by them.

This is why I didn’t post yesterday.  Blame R.A. Heinlein – I was reading his Glory Road.  He’s dead, he won’t care.

On the other hand, if I didn’t read, my writing wouldn’t be half of what it is and it would be twice as hard.  If writer’s block is the equivalent of constipation, then reading is the equivalent of fiber.  It’s not a pretty analogy, but it is remarkably accurate.

But, again, I spent the morning with a cat in my lap and a book in my hands instead of making phone calls, appointments, and, of course, posting.

Honestly, I wish I could feel worse about this.  It’s been awhile since I’ve done anything like that and I really enjoyed it.  It reminded me why I like reading so much and why I got into writing in the first place.

As for the book itself?  Meh, I give it mixed reviews.  On one hand, I loved the narrative voice, found the characters compelling and interesting, and, of course, couldn’t put it down.  On the other, I don’t think it’s Heinlein’s best work.  It’s one of his early books and it shows – it isn’t quite as smooth as some of his later works.  I thought the story moved too quickly and feel the ending could have been stronger.  As it is, it just sort of trickled off.

Still, it was a fun read.  5 out of 10 stars.

Leave a Reply

