The Third Idea

In the book Storyteller, author Kate Wilhelm says something along the lines of: when your character is in a bad situation, come up with an idea to get them out of it.  Then come up with another one.  Then come up with a third.

Now use the third.

I’m more-or-less paraphrasing that, but it’s a great idea.  I think.  Speaking as an author who has no published fiction, I think its a great idea.

But the true stunt here is coming up with idea number three.  One is easy…ish.  Very easy-ish.  Some-days-it’s-harder-than-others easy-ish.

Who am I kidding?  Some days it’s really hard.

And then after sweating through idea number one, number two is running the marathon again, which even less fun.  By the time I get to number three, I’ve just about had enough.  Do all that again?  Are you mad?  I’m tired and I don’t wanna work any more.

Yet I find myself hauling my rear in gear again.

There’s something wrong with me.  I’m not sure what it is, but I’m positive there’s something wrong with me.  Sheer pig-headed stubbornness might be the problem.  Maybe there’s a sliver of optimism left in me that die-hard cynicism hadn’t hunted down, ripped out, and put out of it’s misery.

Though I’ve gotta say, I think it’s the stubbornness.  That could just be the optimism shoving the other guy under the bus, but I think it’s the stubbornness.

This has come up because I’m working on an outline for a mystery novel, I’m getting toward the end and I’m trying to keep the pacing up.  And trying to make it appropriately theatrical without getting too pulpy.  I’m really bad about the “too pulpy” thing.

Welp, it’s not getting done while I sit here.

Leave a Reply

