The Funnies

I’ll admit it: if it wasn’t for the comics, I would never look at the paper.

It’s terrible, I know.  I should be an adult with mature tastes and a hunger for news.  I should be interested in what’s going on locally, nationally and globally.  I should be well informed and well read.  I should keep track of the local drama.  I should worry about what’s going on in the Ukraine and Gaza.  I can’t do anything about it, but I should be fully prepared to give myself an ulcer and a headache over it.

Did I just answer my own question or what?

It’s not that I hate the news, and I do try to keep up with things at least in a peripheral way, but I do tend to be a bit of a worrier and I’ve got enough stress in my life as it is.  Besides, I am tired of the sensationalism and clearly biased reporting.  I am also tired of people ignoring the larger issues in favor of the “happy stories.”  Human interest stories are nice, but aren’t really news.  If I’m paying attention to the news, I would like to see things that actually matter.

Perhaps that devalued my original comment.  None of this was actually what I was going to talk about, which was: I open the paper for the comics.  I might read the articles that interest me, but if I wasn’t looking forward to the comics, I wouldn’t bother.

I suppose this is a “guilty pleasure,” but I don’t think it should be.  I mean, it’s nice to be an adult and I should spend more time acting like one, but what’s the point of being an adult if you can’t be childish from time to time?

Wait, that doesn’t make any sense.

Point is: comics.  Yes.  Comics.  Much more fun to read than news.

Um….yeah.  All I got for this week.

Leave a Reply

