Guess who didn’t vote this year…

pride-828056_640 landrachuck @ pixabay.com…it wasn’t me.  I voted.  I didn’t want to, but my parents do this thing I like to call guilt-fu and I had to go vote anyway.

I am not happy about this.  I am less happy about the Facebook comments that follow this – okay, every – election.

For a moment, just a moment, I’m going to be insulting.  And I don’t mean a little insulting – I mean super-duper-exceptionally insulting.  Like level 18 Jerk insulting.  But I need to get this off my chest and I feel turnabout is fair play:

You people sound like idiots.  I found your comments insulting, unreasonable, and disrespectful to anyone with a different opinion.  You have decided that just because someone doesn’t agree with you they are morons.  This is cruel and shallow.  On top of which, you sound like whiny children.  Handle it with some grace or go cry in a corner – not in public.

*cough*

Now, where was I?  Right – why I didn’t want to vote.

It comes down to this: I don’t feel like I had enough information to vote responsibly.  If my decisions are going to affect other people, I want them to be informed decisions.  If I didn’t make the effort to collect information, I feel as though I don’t deserve an opinion.   In short – if I don’t know anything about it, I’m going to do my best to keep my mouth shut on the subject.  This doesn’t always work, but I’m only human.

But this sort of attitude doesn’t hold up under guilt-fu  from two different directions and I’ve done things I’ve wanted to do a lot less to avoid those disappointed looks and resigned sighs.  So I voted.  I don’t feel too good about it.

Please stop waving that cheerful sticker in my face now.  Yes – I Voted Today!  It’s not necessarily a good thing in my case.

Leave a Reply

