Stay on Target

Today’s Blogging Fundamentals lesson is a post all about defining your Target Audience.

See?  I even gave it’s capital letters to make it sound as important.  ‘Cause, you know, it is.  Totally.  Really.  Trying really hard to be sincere here.

Okay, I’m not being sincere at all.  When they asked: who is your target audience?  I thought: well, they should be at least 18.  Yeah, brain went straight there.  It proceeded along one of those paths that are bound to get me in trouble later – one that happened to go: at least 18…no, 15 should be okay…13, if they promise not to tell their parents…but nobody under 13.  When I passed out my business cards at the Origins Game Fair in Columbus (Ohio) last week, I made sure people were 18, just to be safe.

No, nobody actually wanted a business card.  I gave them out as a blatant act of self-promotion and when someone asked for my email once.  I don’t know if I’ve ever gotten any interest in my blog from the cards, but I might have netted Vistaprint some more business.

So…target audience.  They should probably be 13 at the very least.  They should have a dry sense of humor.  And they should have some spare time on their hands.

Still too broad, huh?  *thinks*

*keeps thinking*

My target audience is……………nope.  Just kidding.

*keeps thinking*

I guess my honest-to-goodness target audience is one that will be interested in the lives of little things.  Things like peas, the Confederate flag, arsenic – as I’ve said before, a salmagundi is a salad and salads are made up of little bits, usually chopped up in bite sized pieces.  I’m trying to tackle the whole world in this blog, mostly by cutting it up into little bits and seasoning it with a dry sense of humor.  I’m not always funny – sometimes I don’t even try – but I do attempt to keep posts interesting and well-balanced.  I always try to look at both sides of the issue, even thought sometimes I just want to play dumb.  I want people to think, because I believe the lack of thinking generally what gets us into trouble.  “Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time,” is only funny if it has no terrible, lasting consequences.  I want to get away from the more personal stuff, but I think some of that will be unavoidable.  I want people to like my blog, regardless of if they click the Like button or not, but I’m secure enough to be okay if someone hates it.  The internet is a place of opinions and you are entitled to yours.

I feel with that, I should mention that I don’t like trolls and I do approve comments before they go up.  I will approve just about anything, even if you don’t agree with me, but if your goal is just to be abusive for…fun?  Entertainment?  Self-actualization?  Sexual arousal?  (Why are web trolls nasty?  Does anyone know?)  You will find your comments not appearing in the comments section.  Said people may call this petty (Pot.  Kettle.  Black.) or an invasion of free speech, but I think of it as making at least one corner of the internet a little bit tidier for everyone else.

One thought on “Stay on Target

  1. I’ve just read several of your posts and I absolutely love your writing style! It’s the funniest thing I’ve read in ages. I’m over 18 and have a dry sense of humour so I guess that makes me your target audience. I don’t have a huge amount of spare time on my hands but, hey, you can’t have everything. Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

