The Great Scheduling Crisis

I’m a little backlogged on things to do, no small part of which is because I spent the weekend with an old friend in Jamestown, New York, but those of you who are familiar with my posting scheduling are well aware I’m a titch…erratic…about posting.  Yes.  Yes – that sound nicer than,  “unpredictable,” “uninspired” or even plain ole’ “inconsistent.”  This is why I’m on Day 9 of Blogging Fundamentals instead of Day 12, which will soon be in my inbox.

The Day 9 assignment goes:

Yesterday, you left comments on four other blogs — that means the posts were thought-provoking. Let’s draw on that!

Today, write a post that builds on one of these comments, and link to the other blog.

Trouble is, that was four days ago.  For the most part, I don’t remember what I read four days ago and I believe in being generous with my likes and my comments.  Enter Ffigys Designs, who not only replied to my comment, but read and liked my blog and, by extension, saved my rear today.  (Thank you, thank you, thank you.)  So the post I’m drawing on today is called Oh dear and actually does connect to why I didn’t post, why I’m late and why my daily chore list can be up to 13 items long and the to do list hasn’t gotten done.

I’m busy.  That’s the short version.  The long version is I run role-playing games that need prepped every week, a raspberry patch that needs daily tending during this time of year, a garden to manage, breakfast than needs to be pre-made every day and more writing than I have time or motivation to get done.  I struggle with major depressive disorder and am unhealthily stressed most of the time.  (I’m 30 and live with my parents and can’t figure out how to get a place of my own – that’s why.)  I go to work at 4 in the morning and usually come home only to fall asleep, which, trust me, is surprisingly productive.  I tried just going to bed really early for awhile, but that didn’t work out very well.

Some people would say, “Well, there’s a whole bunch of stuff there that you could just cut.  That would free up some time.”  Yeah, okay, fine.  I could say screw the raspberry patch, drop game-mastering duties, let the garden manage itself and eat Cliff bars every morning for breakfast.  I could, but I won’t.  Because, you see, if I don’t over-schedule just a bit, I don’t get anything done.  That’s the sad truth of my personal variation on depression.  If I can get going and stay going I’m all right, but the minute I drop, I drop and usually don’t get back up until the next day.

But there’s a line between keeping going and getting bogged down, which I haven’t really found.  I can’t speak for other over-scheduled people, but I cross that line pretty quick and often have trouble finding my way back.

To end on a more positive note, this post, gloomy as it may be, qualifies as a good start for today.

 

2 thoughts on “The Great Scheduling Crisis

  1. Thanks for the pingback, that was my first one.:)

    You think you’re running late with Blogging Fundamentals? I haven’t done day 4 yet, and it was due 17 days ago…. I totally get what you mean about the line between keeping going and getting bogged down. I spend most of my time on the bogged down side, but you probably guessed that already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

