Windows 10

I get phone calls on a semi-regular basis from an unidentified number that always turn out to be some guy with an Indian accent claiming to be from Microsoft, telling me that there is a problem with my computer.  Naturally, he wants to help me fix it.

This is a fake.  I know its a fake and I suspect he knows I know its a fake, but they won’t stop calling, so I grief them on a semi-regular basis.  Last time they called, I got in five full minutes of complaining about Windows 10.  It was rather therapeutic and I would highly recommend if you’re getting calls from these people.  Even if you’re not using Windows 10, there’s usually something to complain about regarding a Microsoft operating system.

If you are using Windows 10 or are considering upgrading to 10…it’s not as bad as some people make it out to be.  I’m not trying to endorse or even review the product, but I’ve been using it for about 2 weeks now and I just kinda want to toss my opinion out there.  I’m not a computer guru and I largely use my computer to access the internet, write and play games, with the occasionally forays into programs like Microsoft Excel and Adobe Photoshop.  I don’t run a business or have any special programs, so beyond that, I don’t care what it does as long as it works.

Windows 10 does, indeed, work.  There are people who hate on it pretty hard, but it does run and I’ve not had any issues with bugs and the like.  Yes, I’ve said it.  I can hear the computer elite’s hearts stopping from here.  Windows 10 runs and it runs….well…good enough.  It gets the job done.  And they’ve done some things right, like going back to the traditional Windows format, instead of the touch-screen-friendly thing they did with 8 where your Start menu had really big buttons was on an entirely different screen.

But remember when you could buy a Microsoft computer and all the extra stuff it had on it was Internet Explorer and solitaire?  I don’t know if there was a gradual drift away from this, because I went straight from Windows 98 to Windows XP.  I don’t remember extra stuff on XP, but the computer I ran it on told me it was a Mac.  Twice.  It was fairly reliable machine, but it did have a personality disorder.

Then I got a little Acer with Window 8.1 and I learned about bloatware.  For those not super familiar with computer terminology, bloatware is all of those programs you get that you won’t ever use, are usually demo copies, and are pre-installed on a new computer.  Yeah.  Those things.  You know what I’m talking about.  They have a name beyond: “AGGGGHHHH, WTF is this?”  Windows 8.1 allowed you to delete them.  Windows 10 does not.

Oh, some of them you can get rid of – just enough to give you hope.  But I do tend to pick at things and was annoyed when I learned I have to live with Xbox Live.  I don’t have an Xbox and, more pertinently, I don’t have an Xbox One, which I think is the only one that links up.  I have no use for Xbox Live.  And I can’t even figure out what OneNote does that a piece of paper and a pencil couldn’t do faster.  Windows 10 also includes Cortana, which is Microsoft’s answer to Siri.  My last Apple computer was a Color ’85 and I’ve played Portal, so I’ve never cuddled up to Siri.  Anything pretending to be an AI makes me leery.  So far, Cortana just keeps sitting in the corner next to my start menu and asking me if I need anything.  It makes me miss that paperclip in Word that at least had entertaining animations.

Despite all that, I’d hang on to Windows 10, because a) it was free and b) they’ll stop supporting everything else sooner than later, but I have a little baby Acer.  We’re not talking a ton of processing power here – it was supposed to be a kind of portable typewriter – and 10 is a little big for it.  It’s behaving like it’s trying to wade through molasses just to bring up Word.  So looks like it’s back to 8.1 for me, which means another reformat.  *sigh*

 

Leave a Reply

