Brown Bag Breakfast

This started out as a topic in 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto called: ‘What you ate for breakfast.”  

I eat breakfast at home, at a real table, in a kitchen twice a week – Saturday and Sunday.  The other five days I eat breakfast at a desk, usually in front of a computer.  This is because (and I’ve said this before), I start work at 4 am.  I usually get around to eating at 6 am, mind you, but I’m still at work.  So far for the past week and a half I’ve had overnight oats, fruit and tea for breakfast.

I bet you’re thinking I’m stuck in a bit of a rut, or perhaps you’re feeling generous and think I’ve had a different type of oatmeal, fruit and tea every day.  The truth is the only variation I’ve done is with fruit.  In the past two weeks, I’ve had bananas, grapes, peaches, strawberries and this morning I had blackberries from my garden.  I found a worm crawling out of one blackberry.

I have since come to the conclusion it’s time to rethink my brown-bag breakfast.  Really the wake up call should have happened when I added coconut to my cocoa powder/raisin overnight oats and it was the best thing I’d tasted in weeks.  But the worm was less of a pleasant surprise and less pleasant surprises are a motivational catalyst.

It’s no surprise that it’s gotten this way.  When I was packing my own lunches in elementary and high school, I spent most of my time in a rut – I ate yogurt so often I still look at containers and go, “Do I really want this?”  The answer is usually, “No,” and if it isn’t, breakfast the next morning is usually a regrettable disappointment.  For me, yogurt has to be pretty special to be tasty.  Mere granola doesn’t make it special enough.  I eat it anyway, but I also ate the blackberries anyway.  (Though, no, I didn’t eat the one with the worm.  Please don’t tell me that if one has worm, so will others.  I blocked that thought while downing the rest of the berries.) The alternative is being hungry and I dislike that much more than yogurt.  Or worms.

I’ve come up with some good breakfasts – strawberries drizzled with honey and green tea yogurt with almonds; basil, cream cheese, tomato quiche; hard-boiled eggs and leftover bacon; cornbread molasses muffins and steak.  Of the list, the latter has been the best.  Not gonna lie – you feel like you can take on the world when breakfast includes steak.  Health nuts can talk about the protein content of yogurt/pecans all they like, but it’s nothing compared to the feeling of downing steak first thing in a morning: Hey, I have woken up and eaten another living creature.  *cracks knuckles*  Yes, world, did you want something?

Fun as that is though, steak is expensive and muffins don’t usually make an appearance in my mornings.  Making breakfast the night before is like anything else you do every day – you get to a point where it’s just a nuisance and you’ll do a half-assed job just to get it over with as fast as possible.

Ergo: oatmeal, fruit, tea for a week and a half.

Leave a Reply

