The Glass Isn’t Always Half Empty

I was going to talk about monsters since Halloween was Monday, but OH MY GOD THE CUBS WON THE WORLD SERIES!!!

Not gonna lie, this fixed my morning.  Anything that was wrong (and stuff had already gone wrong) – all better.

Okay, so I don’t actually watch or even like baseball, but it’s hard not to be happy for a team that broke a 108 year losing streak.  I mean…come on.  Even one of the Indian fans I know said, “Yeah, okay, it would be kinda cool if the Cubs won.”  Whole generations of fans have been born and died without seeing this happen.  The Cubs were the ultimate underdogs and they won.  Chicago must be going crazy right now.  Well, crazy in a better way than usual.

You’re probably wondering what this has to do with the glass being half empty, but I was listening to one of the five morning shows we play at the station yesterday morning and they were talking about how one of the keys to happiness was admitting you if you were really a Glass is Half Empty Person versus a Glass is Half Full Person.  My first thought was: I’m a Glass is Twice as Big as It Needs to Be Person, because if something is broken I want to find out why.  However, after some thought, I’m probably a Glass is Half Empty Person because I really didn’t think the Cubs were going to win.  I wanted them to win, but I didn’t really have faith in them.

I could use the excuse that Cleveland is a really good team (they are) and they had a 3-1 lead at one point (they did) and they had an eleven game winning streak earlier this year (which is true), but…really, despite my efforts on the contrary, I’m just not a positive person.

This is largely considered a negative thing, particularly in the U.S.   It might be natural bias talking in this case, but I think we’re putting too much emphasis on how much better positive attitudes are.  Negative people aren’t always doom and gloom.  Sometimes we’re just people who look at the facts and go, “Yeah…so <fill-in-blank-with-positive-outcome> is not likely,” or who are fully prepared for the crisis du jour.  We also tend not to embrace hope like the Glass is Half Full contingent – I think, as a group, we much prefer to treat hope like a hostile porcupine.

It makes us look bad, but we’re not poisonous people by nature – you can think the glass is half empty without bringing other people down.  And just because the glass is half empty, doesn’t mean you don’t get happy or excited or worked up over things.  It doesn’t mean you never hope or completely lack faith or aren’t loyal.  And it’s not that we don’t see a silver lining – we’re just not particularly impressed with it.   We’re not all prophets constantly crying doom – we’re just as happy to live in a positive moment as anyone else.  Sometimes the glass is full.  Of beer.  And it may say:  “Chicago Cubs: 2016 World Series Champions” on the side.

Call me a fair weather fan if you like, but…if the Indians had won, you’d be reading a post about monsters right now.

2 thoughts on “The Glass Isn’t Always Half Empty

  1. I always like to consider the worst possibility, and work out how to cope with that. The worst doesn’t always happen but if you know how to cope with that you are set. I’m accused of being negative for this yet I find it de stresses me far more than traditional positive self talk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

