Coping with the Christmas Blahs

It’s that time of year again!  Time to break out the boxes of holiday decorations and decide how we’re going to cope with them this time around.

Okay, so I’m feeling a bit cranky today.  Maybe its the two days of slate gray, sunless sky that’s getting to me.  Or possibly just the PMS.  The reason isn’t particularly relevant, but since it’s the first day of December, Christmas decorations are.

Today is the earliest I’ll put them up.  I refuse to do this before – I won’t object if others do, but there has to be a really good reason for me to be putting of Christmas decorations before December 1st.

That being said, most of our Christmas decorations are…old.  And not in a vintage, antique, been-in-family, starts-off-the-Christmas-holiday sort of way.  It’s more of a mom-and-dad bought-these-when-they-first-married-and-they-haven’t-fallen-apart-yet sort of old.  Which is okay, but I’ve seen these decorations year after year after year and when you live with your parents, there’s no comfort in the traditional mementos of your childhood when you see them every day.

So this December 1st has me going: ‘Yay!  Christmas decorations!  I can’t wait to start decorating……..with the same decorations as last year.  And every year before that.  Ugh.’

But now that I’ve rewashed the same complaints as I make every year, I suppose it’s time to do something about it.  Hopefully without any semi-traditional arguments.

I decided to start with hitting Pinterest.  A quick search for ‘christmas decorations’ brought up a lot popsicle stick creations, ‘dazzling’ winter centerpieces and something called ‘farmhouse glam’ which, having been on a farm, is the creation of city folk who don’t have much notion of what Christmas in at a farmhouse is actually like.  And, as usual, Pinterest is populated with people with free access to wood pallets, old ladders, miles of burlap and pool noodles they never intend to use again.  It has made me absurdly angry and I don’t understand why.

*does a few deep breathing exercises to put Autumn-Hulk back in her box*  Okay.  So.  Looks like, as usual, it’s up to me to brighten my own holiday spirit.

So, you know what?  This year, I’m going to find that perfect gingerbread cookie recipe.  I’m going to make at least one new Christmas decoration.  I will savor my favorite part of the holidays – wrapping presents – because I don’t get to do it often enough.  I will find something new to listen to.  I’ll even try to see Die Hard this year.  I’ll put up a Christmas background on my computer, if I can find something with pine.  I’ll even write our yearly Christmas letter and get my relatives to stop threatening fratricide.  I’ll make a list.  And, in a nod to old-fashioned Christmas traditions, I’ll even check it twice.

Leave a Reply

