Water

drop of water closeup

Several weeks ago I started having severe dry-eye issues.  Not one to immediately run to the doctor before I’ve tried to fix it myself, I decided to narrow down the cause in a scientific-ish manner, by changing a single factor that might be contributing at a time.  If changing that factor proved to make no difference, I would swap it out for another.

Yeah, this is what happens when you’re raised by engineers.  Occasionally you approach problems in a very linear manner.

Anyway, I started with eye drops – the standard treatment for dry eyes.  After a week of applying them several times a day and trying at least three brands with almost no improvement, that plan got scrapped.

I attempted to get away from screens, but that’s incredibly difficult in this day and age.  After three days, that factor was shelved as the last resort.

So, I decided to drink water – hoping it was somehow related to dehydration.  I started with two glasses/standard sized bottles per day.  Success!  After about two days, I started to show some improvement and decided to continue with the program.

Fast forward to a week later.  One of my friends/fitness guru/Zumba instructor offered up a free hydration challenge on Facebook as part of a program she runs.  Not thinking much about it, I said, “I’m game.”  I mean, I was already drinking water anyway.

Welp, the challenge tacked on two extra bottles.  It also cut pop, juice, coffee with creamer, sweet tea, sport drinks and pretty much everything else, including kombucha and booze.  Unsweetened tea, herbal tea and coffee without creamer (blech) remained on the list, provided there was no more than one to two cups per day.

Naturally alcohol would be cut.  I mean, of course.  It’s terribly dehydrating.  *sigh*  I guess I needed to lay off the drinks for a while anyway.  No problem.

Curiously, Facebook shuffled something a friend of my liked on to my feed during this.  It’s a video shot by a woman in Florida of her and her daughter (or some other small, feminine child) pH testing various bottled waters and tap water.  Though I admire her methodology, I regret to say I found her voice and attitude irritating, and I was confused at her absolute horror at finding that some of the bottled water was acidic.  And I mean home pH test acidic, so we’re not even talking food grade vinegar here.  But, oh my goodness, such disgust.

Well, if you know me, you know I’m not about to let that lie.  On to Google to answer the question: what’s the big fat hairy deal about water that’s slightly basic or slightly acidic?

I didn’t spend a ton of time on it because a) I have a life and b) I know enough about chemistry to not be overly concerned.  What I found was one unverifiable study allegedly done in Sweden that seems to connect acidic water with mercury levels and one reputable study in the US National Library of Medicine suggesting that water with a pH of 8.8 might be helpful to those with acid reflux.

So what do I think?  I’m the person waiting for the clinical studies on the benefits of essential oils, so what do you think I think?

I think I’ve still got two bottles of water to drink today.

3 thoughts on “Water

  1. So, I read your post and thought “Why would anyone care what pH their drinking water is?” right after wondering (yet again) why anyone buys bottled water when they can get it free-ish (we have to pay the water companies for their services after all) at home anyway? I only buy bottled water if I’m travelling and forgot to fill a bottle at home, so that’s not very often. Ever curious, I went across to Facebook to see what people were saying.

    OMG, don’t people know anything??? A healthy human stomach is soooo acidic that it doesn’t make a blind bit of difference what pH the drinking water is, its effect will be insignificant once that water hits the stomach! It beggars belief that so many folks believe stuff just because it’s on the internet, and they don’t bother to check any facts. Aaaagggggghhhhh.

    Yeah, I’m a trained biochemist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get the bottled water thing, as I’ve been in places were the tap water isn’t any good. But…yeah. I try to tell myself that some people don’t have the benefit of a background in hard science like I do, can’t remember their high school level science class, don’t know what a reputable site is…but that doesn’t keep me from wanting to occasionally strangle them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In my country, the tap water is good everywhere, we have regulations to make sure of that, so the bottled water thing is just a trend, unneccessary and expensive. But you’re so right that people don’t know what a reputable internet site is and will believe anything. I’m right there with you in wanting to strangle people sometimes…….

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

